The Hebrew Priesthood ­ Divided by Moses Into:

1. The High Priesthood

2. The Low Priesthood

Scripture shows that there is a royal priesthood that involves only God and Jesus. "...a priesthood of father to one son exclusively". It is referred to in the Psalms as a priesthood of Melchizadek. The reason for this is to separate it from the priesthoods of Israel.

Melchizadek administered from a town called 'Salem' to Abraham, long before the tribes of Israel ever came into existance. Blessing Abraham and coming before Israel, it was thought by them to be greater.

The town of Salem was a precurser to the city of Jerusalem. They are believed by many to be one and the same. We now know that the royal priesthood is the Trinity. It is the Godhead.

Below it, comes our own.

Leviticism divided the Hebrew priesthood into two parts, one, the high priesthood -- that of Aaron -- and the other, a low priesthood called the Levites. The position and the division are major allegories of scripture.

The allegory of the Aaronic priesthood was fullfilled when Jesus created the Petrine priesthood -- a priesthood we all become a part through faith. Peter, appointed to this position of primacy by Jesus, is the person first-born into this priesthood. We join with him in that priesthood when we are baptised in the Holy Spirit.

The Levitical priesthood, on the other hand -- i.e., the secondary priesthood -- corresponds to the outer chamber just as it did in Hebrew times, and so is defined in the ordained ministry and in the churches which all these ministries have set up.

This division can easier be seen if we think of it in terms of faith versus theology. Faith is the high priesthood and theology is the low priesthood. The low priesthood is entirely external and is measured from Popes down to ministers and deacons, and incorporates all activities performed in all churches from Catholicism to fundamentalism.

The high priesthood, on the other hand, is completely internal and can only be measured by faith.

It is the high priesthood that saves. The other does not.

Jesus took the Holy of Holies from the temple in Jerusalem and deposited into the soul (the naos) of each baptised Christian. Whereas the High Priest of Jerusalem could only go one day a year into this chamber and perform his priestly duties, we must go in constantly throughout the course of the day and evening, offering the spiritual sacrifices which Jesus made acceptable to God -- i.e., acts of mercy, love and good faith.

It is for this reason that Jesus has made us (in keeping with the dictates of scripture) a line of priests and kings.

Paul, as tentmaker (church-maker), is the director of the Levitical (or theological) part of these two ministries. In the same way that Moses authored most of the Torah in the Old Testament, Paul was the author of the greater part of the New Testament, and this seems to have made him heir to the Mosaic office.

In this role, Paul has moved theology towards faith and made it submissive to faith, something the old Testament did not do.

The theological part of the ministry came first because theology is the substance of the Old Testament. Faith was brought by Jesus and is, therefore, the youngest and the greatest. This repeats an allegorical theme which streams almost constantly throughout the pages of the Bible.

One can easily argue that none of this is relative anymore and only faith is important. But Jesus gave a parable about the Jewish priests giving great importance to tithes of herbs while ignoring the spiritual sacrifices that are far more important. In that parable Jesus concluded that both were necessary.

The same is true here. Without theology and its attendant ceremonies, Christ's religion would quickly fade away, and there would be no faith.

See, Also:

'The Clock of God', Chapter 14, 'The Royal Priesthood'

Or Return to Subject Index:

Subject Index


Goodnews Christian Ministry

send E-mail to: